curved street and back to vieja 15Mar2019

habana vieja

We certainly covered a lot of ground today or should I say I saw more this time around. We asked to be dropped at the intersection of Galiano and San Miguel so we could walk down San Miguel to where the street curved which gives a different perspective from straight open street. The street was a bit more run down than other streets and the buildings a bit more dilapidated but with some interesting spots.

habana vieja

habana vieja

habana vieja

habana vieja

habana vieja

Until we reached the curved part.

habana vieja

habana vieja

We then reached an area with some street vendors and where Yolly bought a few souvenirs including fridge magnets and a pair of maracas. And for me a few vendor shots.

habana vieja

habana vieja

habana vieja

We continued walking this time towards Parque Central where the taxis assembled as this appears to be a tourist focal point. We came to the Hotel Plaza that was the first hotel that we booked a room with until I read the dreadful reviews so I switched to the Habana Riviera. Yolly would have killed me. We later found out it really wasn’t that bad and I wished we’d stayed there as I could have explored the area more. Taking a taxi from our hotel just made it inconvenient for me to go out and explore by myself while Yolly took it easy.

habana vieja

From the Hotel Plaza we walked over to the Bacardi Building which was a location for the Encounter kdrama and spoke to the bouncer who played a small part in the show. He was also quite pleased that I recognized him from the show.

habana vieja

From the Bacardi we walked to the Obispo Street and walked on the street and spotted two more location shoots.

habana vieja

habana vieja

habana vieja

habana vieja

habana vieja

habana vieja

habana vieja

habana vieja

habana vieja

habana vieja

From Obispo we walked through San Ignacio and Mercaderes with the latter street being more interesting with more art galleries, restaurants and shops. We saw another old hotel, Hotel Krogel, and I liked the interior so we stopped again, me for a lemonade and Yolly for another mojito.

habana vieja

habana vieja

habana vieja

habana vieja

habana vieja

We basically just wandered around at this point and covering old ground but seeing it a little bit differently.

habana vieja

habana vieja

habana vieja

habana vieja

And for all that it was just to get us to lunch at Al Carbon, our fave resto.

habana vieja

habana vieja

habana vieja

habana vieja

habana vieja

habana vieja

habana vieja

And more walking …

habana vieja

habana vieja

habana vieja

habana vieja<

habana vieja

>habana vieja

habana vieja

habana vieja

habana vieja

habana vieja

habana vieja

habana vieja

And did I say I actually danced a bit of salsa?

The rest of the album is here.

Leave a comment